The Hottest Summer That Ever Was

So as I am working here in Nogales and the surrounding area sweating I have been thinking about the epic stories I will tell my children and grandchildren about the hottest summer I ever lived. You think I exaggerate the heat but it has been highs of 100 all week, next week it’s suppose to get up to 106. It’s dry heat yes but doing manual labor in it is still excruciating. The heat here is unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. It melts things in the van and it will easily burn you if you touch anything that has been out in it.

Image

Sweat stained shirt

It’s been a lifesaver having a pool at our housing and we’ve been taking advantage of it daily. We are doing our weekly PT in the pool playing catch or swimming around. It’s really the only way for PT not to be a miserable experience in the heat. 

Image

Lounging by the pool

 

Image

Old Mine off the trail we’re building

This week we are working with Santa Fe Ranch building trail and a campsite for them. They are an awesome working cattle ranch who have started a non profit as part of their ranch that gives children and people with disabilities a chance to experience the outdoors. The people are great and really interesting and it has been a blast working with them, but it doesn’t make the heat any better. Also we get to see lots of cows everyday.

 

Image

Shade I built for people to escape the brutal heat.

As of this week I have been living the same cycle as the sun. I go to bed around 8-9 and rise around 5. We start work at 6, which sounds miserable but being off and in the pool by 2 is a nice perk. Also since we are now on PST it’s nice to actually be working about the same schedule as Dalen.

One thought on “The Hottest Summer That Ever Was

Leave a comment