Everything is Grand in Casa Grande.

Week one of life in Casa Grande is winding to an end. We have been doing trainings and working with some great people here in Casa Grande on Casa Grande Mountain. The people of Casa Grande have been amazing in making us feel welcomed and taken care of. We feel like local celebrities here and have already been featured on the front page of the newspaper!

This is where I'm working everyday

This is where I’m working everydayThe mountain that we are working on is also really beautiful, it’s way different from the North Carolina mountains.

The mountain that we are working on is also really beautiful, it’s way different from the North Carolina mountains.

The Jumping Cholla got me.

The Jumping Cholla got me.

There are a lot of cacti and pokey plants that want to attack us (The worst of which in this area is the jumping cholla), but we have been persevering.

My favorite part of trail building so far has been destroying the cacti that are in the way of our trail. Whether it is with loppers or by pushing them down with my McCloud it has been my specialty on the trail. I also transplanted some plants which I enjoyed.

Destroying Jumping Cholla with my McCloud

While destroying Cholla is fun, I transplanted this little bugger to make sure he’s safe.

It’s important in trail building to make sure that your muscles have names so that you can congratulate them when they have performed tasks such as removing rocks from the ground or pushing down a huge jumping cholla. My right muscle is The Hulk and my left one is Bruce Banner but I usually just call him Bruce for short.

Gave this plants a little extra moisture ;).

SAM_1183

The Cacti are huge… no joke, they once killed a man.

 

SAM_1168

This is where all 10 of us will be living.

 

7 thoughts on “Everything is Grand in Casa Grande.

  1. Love the pictures, I’m sure you enjoy being outside for a change of pace in Arizona . The mountains and surrounding area are different than the Carolina mountains but still beautiful .

    • I think Meg names her Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. And of course Josh’s are named something La cucaracha and Grosero. Apparently the man was shooting at the cactus and the limb fell on him so it probably did kill him just to watch him die 😉

  2. Can’t wait to see the cacti blooming, hope you can get some photo’s of them. I would love to see that in person. Looks like you are keeping busy, and also looks like the cacti are fighting back. I just hope you don’t come across snakes, I don’t like them and I don’t want you to see them. But it is the desert, all kinds of animals out there. Along with work, make sure you have some fun also. Love you girl!!

Leave a comment